Skip to navigation

Skip to content

Australian Mental Health Commissions and the New Zealand Mental Health Commissioner collaborate to improve mental health

The long history of collaboration and commitments to mental health reform between Australia and New Zealand has been formalised with the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

The parties to the MoU:

  • Recognise their complementary roles and shared commitment to improving the mental health and wellbeing of the people of Australia and New Zealand.
  • Recognise the benefit of collaborative working practices.

The MoU was signed by:

 New Zealand Office of the Health and Disability Commissioner
 National Mental Health Commission
 Mental Health Commission of New South Wales
 Mental Health Commission of Western Australia
 Mental Health Commission of South Australia
 Mental Health Complaints Commissioner Victoria
 Queensland Mental Health Commission

View the MoU here

Australia and New Zealand team up to improve mental health

From left to right: Professor Allan Fels, Chair, National Mental Health Commission; Dr Peggy Brown, CEO and Commissioner, National Mental Health Commission; Dr Lesley van Schoubroeck, Commissioner, Queensland Mental Health Commission; Dr Lynne Coulson Barr, Commissioner, Mental Health Complaints Commission Victoria; Mr John Feneley, Commissioner, Mental Health Commission of New South Wales; Mr Chris Burns, Commissioner, Mental Health Commission South Australia; Mr Timothy Marney, Commissioner, Mental Health Commission Western Australia

Get Help

24 Hour Emergency Services

Lifeline Australia

13 11 14

Suicide Call Back

1300 659 467

Kids Help Line

1800 551 800

More Services

Find Events

More Events

Read Documents

Corporate Plan 2019-2023 | PDF 1.1MB

Paid Participation Policy | PDF 2MB

Annual Report 2017-18 | PDF 18.6MB

More Publications

Get Involved

eNews updates

Subscribe to RSS
(What is RSS?)