Skip to content

Mental health and suicide prevention reform a national priority

Mental health and suicide prevention reform a national priority

The National Mental Health Commission (The Commission) today welcomed the swearing-in of the new ministry including The Hon. Greg Hunt MP, Minister for Health and Aged Care, and in the new role of Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention, The Hon. David Coleman MP.

National Mental Health Commission CEO, Ms Christine Morgan, said mental health and suicide prevention are clearly priorities for the Australian Government with this timely new appointment reinforcing a commitment to system reform.

“Governments, Ministers, mental health leaders and Australians who live with mental illness and ill-health, are all clearly committed to mental health and suicide prevention reform. This requires a coordinated and forthright effort, of which an additional dedicated ministerial position is applauded,” said Ms Morgan. 

“The Commission looks forward to working collaboratively on the strategic planning and the substance of the reforms needed across all touch points of the national system.

Commission Chair, Mrs Lucy Brogden, AM, said Assistant Minister Coleman’s appointment recognised his commitment to the importance of taking a compassionate and strategic approach to prevention, early intervention and access to care.

“Reform in mental health and suicide prevention requires a whole of government and all of governments approach. This new portfolio is key to ensuring the outcome of reform is more Australians living a contributing life,” said Mrs Brogden.

“Over the past 12 months nearly every Australian has developed a shared understanding of the importance of a person’s mental health and wellbeing to their everyday life. This collective experience is a strong foundation to build a prioritised commitment to reform.”

National FREE 24/7 Crisis Services

Lifeline | 13 11 14
Suicide Call Back Service | 1300 659 467 
Kids Helpline | 1800 55 1800 
MensLine Australia | 1300 78 99 78
Coronavirus Mental Wellbeing Support Service | 1800 512 348

For general mental health information

Aboriginal flag Torres Strait Islander flag

Acknowledgement of Country

The Commission acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands throughout Australia.
We pay our respects to their clans, and to the elders, past present and emerging, and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, sea and community.


The Commission is committed to embracing diversity and eliminating all forms of discrimination in the provision of health services. The Commission welcomes all people irrespective of ethnicity, lifestyle choice, faith, sexual orientation and gender identity.

Lived Experience

We acknowledge the individual and collective contributions of those with a lived and living experience of mental ill-health and suicide, and those who love, have loved and care for them. Each person’s journey is unique and a valued contribution to Australia’s commitment to mental health suicide prevention systems reform.